Zoo’s And Aquariums To Visit In the UK

These are some of the zoos and aquariums I have visited in the UK and why I think you should take a trip there!

Chester Zoo

Chester zoo is the best zoo in the UK in terms of size and conservation efforts. They have some of the best species to see and they are at the top of breeding in the UK, well worth a trip.

Colchester Zoo

Colchester zoo is my local zoo and they one I grew up going too, I love going to this zoo it a good size and has lots of awesome species from elephants to sloths, they often put on events for school holidays.

London Zoo

Being a city zoo London is constantly busy, this is a nice size zoo with 592 different species of animals. This zoo makes a nice day out with lots of history to be learned as well as animals to see.

Whipsnade Zoo

Whipsnade zoo is the sister zoo to London as both come under ZSL. this zoo is a zoo/safari park as you can drive around but the animals are in their enclosures. The bears are great to see and my favourite was the sloth bears.

Edinburgh Zoo

I have only visited Edinburgh zoo once and it was part of a college trip, the focal point of the zoo is the pandas and they are well worth a visit!

Yorkshire Wildlife park

Polar bears! Need I say more? I had a great time when I visited a few years ago, we watched the polar bears for ages, I enjoyed their craft village and I have seen some of their event advertised including summer sleepovers and music concerts.

Welsh Mountain Zoo

Welsh Mountain Zoo is a small zoo with some big species, my favourites to see when I visit is the snow leopards, tigers and the bears.

Combe Martin Wildlife And Dinosaur park

I am blown away by the amount of species here, I love the primates and the racoons, it was actually the first time I saw racoons in a zoo and I watched them for ages! You can also swim with sealions here!

Exmoor Zoo

Home to the Exmoor beast this is a small but cute little zoo and well worth a visit for the big cats!

Newquay Zoo

I haven’t been to Newquay zoo in a long time, and all I remember is the zebras but I hope to visit again soon.

Sea life centre Southend

The aquarium at Southend has recently expanded to include some mammals. I love aquariums and Southend is great if you need to kill an hour or two.

Sea life Birmingham

I have not visited sea life Birmingham yet but I hope to do so in the near future as they are the only place in the UK to house rescued sea otters. This aquarium is high on my bucket list of places to visit this year.

London’s Sea life centre

I haven’t been to this aquarium in a few years as it is always busy but being in the centre of London it offers a good day out. See the sea life and then head round to Trafalgar square.

I hope this list helps, there are quite a few on there that I am going to try to visit again this year, lets just hope my plans can go ahead!.

Thanks for reading,

Megan xoxo

Leave a comment