RSPB Rainham Marshes

When I went home at the end of January, I went on a trip over to Rainham Marshes with my family. This is a RSPB site on the shore of the Thames. If you go along the sea wall you can often spot seals and different wading birds but we stayed within the site of the RSPB and went for a walk around.

I took my camera and we wandered around, we actually started with a chat drink in the cafe before heading off and wandering around the grounds. We went straight to one of the hide and we were immediately greeted by a female kestrel sitting right on a post in front of the hide, I managed to get some really nice pictures and videos of the kestrel hop close, its just a shame the metal posts and electric fencing was in the way.

As we carried on round we saw coots and moorhens and out of the corner of my eye I saw a kingfisher, it was just a shame that I lost it, but I am still really happy that I saw one, even if it was just a fleeting glimpse as it was on my list for the day.

We carried on walking around the site, at the back of the site I was hoping to see a marsh harrier but on this occasion we were unlucky, we did see some carrion crows and got another glimpse of the kestrel.

The boardwalk was closed and this is where I normally see water voles and frogs, but I think it would have been too cold for them even if they were out.

There were lots of ducks around and as we headed back to the café we saw long tailed tits, great tits, blue tits, robins and some redwings. We got back to the café and had another drink whist we watched the sunset and the starlings form their murmuration’s and then we headed home before the car park closed.

It was so lovely being outside and in the fresh air and just wandering around the site. I hope that next time I visit there will be more to see as it will probably be spring by then.

Thanks for reading,

Meg!

2 thoughts on “RSPB Rainham Marshes

Leave a comment